Aarhus University Seal

Academic staff

Permanent staff members

  • Jessica Carter, associate professor: philosophy of mathematical practice, structuralism in mathematics, visual thinking in mathematics, the philosophy of mathematics of C.S. Peirce
  • Matthias Heymann, associate professor: history of atmospheric and climate science, energy technologies, engineering sciences, environmental history
  • Kristian Hvidtfelt Nielsen, associate professor and head of center: science communication, history of popular science, history of scientific fieldwork and expeditions
  • Samuel Schindler, associate professor: explanation, theoretical virtues in theory choice, theory-ladenness, rationality, the historical case study approach, realism debate
  • Kenneth Bradley Wray, associate professor: the social epistemology of science, especially scientific authorship, collaboration, and publication; the philosophy of Thomas Kuhn; and scientific anti-realism

Emeriti/former staff members

  • Hanne Andersen, head of department, Department of Science Education, University of Copenhagen:  interdisciplinarity, scientific change, emergence of new research areas, cognitive studies of science, social epistemology
  • Helge Kragh, emeritus professor, Niels Bohr Archive, University of Copenhagen: early quantum atomic models; history of the periodic system; contemporary speculative cosmologies; northern light research
  • Henry Nielsen,emeritus associate professor: history of nuclear energy technologies, technology and art
  • Keld Nielsen, consultant
  • Kurt Møller Petersen, emeritus associate professor: history of astronomy, history of optics
  • Henrik Kragh Sørensen, Professor with special responsibilities, Department of Science Education, University of Copenhagen

Temporary staff members

Non-staff associated with the centre